Submit

Covestro as a company: let’s materialize circularity

Did you know that you probably have a Covestro product in your wallet? That’s because we produce a range of specialty films for ID cards, and we are in so many more places in everyone's life. Our company is a major player in the polymer materials field. But we don’t stop there; we push for the circular transformation of our industry by developing new ideas.

Polymers or plastics have become indispensable in modern life and for shaping a truly sustainable future. That’s why we are providing materials that serve many key sectors on their transformation journey towards circularity and climate neutrality. We are doing this by constantly developing new ideas, with innovation and sustainability as our driving forces. Yes, it’s sometimes challenging, but that’s how we know we are making ground.

We are curious by nature, if you’re too, jump right in and learn more about us.

Key Figures 2022

1

bn.

Group Sales

1

bn.

EBITDA

1

mn.

Free Operating Cash Flow

1

mn. tons

GHG emissions*

1

Employees

1

Production sites worldwide

> Explore our latest Annual Report

*Measured by CO2-equivalents (Scope 1 & 2)

A setup with a clear focus

We offer a broad range of products and services for varying markets, demands and industries. That’s why we group our portfolio by business specifics and customer needs.

There are two big segments: ‘Performance Materials’ and ‘Solutions & Specialties’. In total, they comprise seven business entities. Each entity is set up according to its individual success factors and integrates all business-critical operations throughout the value chain.

In addition, there are certain cross-company ‘build activities’ to ensure our long-term development. These include sustainability, innovation, digitalization and strategy.

The why and the how

It’s rarely an easy question to reply: why do you do what you do? But at Covestro, we have the answer, and we want to show it to you. Because we believe a business is defined not only by its products but rather by its holistic framework.

What our “Sustainable Future” Strategy is all about

The climate crisis is forcing entire industries to adapt. But at Covestro, we don’t just want to adapt; we want to push forward into a circular tomorrow. With our “Sustainable Future” strategy, we are making our company part of the solution to the challenges of our time – we are responsible. Learn more about the three chapters!

Become the best of who we are

Exploiting one's full potential is the basis for continual and profitable success. We at Covestro are constantly striving to become as customer-centric, efficient and competitive as possible. The clear organizational setup that we introduced in 2021 has been a major step in this direction.

Drive sustainable growth

Sustainability and growth are no opposites, our company aims to bring them together. The most important driver for this is the range of innovative and environmentally-friendly products and solutions that we are constantly enhancing. We steer our future-proof portfolio using the Product Sustainability Assessment (PSA). It is based on the methodology developed by the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD).

And did you know? Our company is one of the world’s leading suppliers of environmentally-friendly coating resins – also due to the acquisition of the Resins & Functional Materials (RFM) business from DSM.

In addition, we invest in market segments that are attractive and eco-friendly for the long term. And we will orient all growth-promoting activities (e.g. our venture capital initiative) even more towards sustainability.

By 2025, 80% of our spending for research and development projects shall contribute to UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). At the end of 2022, we are at 51%.

Become fully circular

To promote a closed-loop economy, we have to start with ourselves. Covestro will be fully circular, and the steps along the way are defined in our global “Circular Economy” program. It is centered around using alternative raw materials and renewable energy as well as fostering innovative recycling and joint solutions.

In the long run, we aim to produce 100% of our products from alternative raw materials to get rid of fossil resources such as crude oil. By realigning our production, we will be able to use raw materials sourced from biomass and recycled components.

In 2022, Covestro purchased and incorporated over 55,000 tons of renewable raw materials.

In circularity, climate neutrality plays a vital part. It means that our actions must not have a negative impact on the climate; that applies to the company’s manufacturing, too. We are striving to become climate neutral by 2035 with regard to greenhouse gas emissions stemming from our own production and the energy we purchase from suppliers.

With our global climate program, we aim to run all production sites with 100% renewable energy. Did you know that already 45% of electricity used at our Antwerp (Belgium) Site is renewable?

It takes a team to push boundaries. That’s why we establish partnerships and networks around the globe.

Do you want to know more? Gladly! Read more about Covestro and Sustainability.

A solid foundation: digitalization and culture

Our “Sustainable Future” strategy relies on a solid foundation: our “We Are 1” culture and the comprehensive digital transformation which we consequently drive at multiple levels. This includes leveraging the potential of artificial intelligence and expanding our digital research and development activities, for example, by cooperating with international tech companies like Google. We also make profitable use of algorithms and machine learning, supported by valuable insights from data science.

As for our workforce, we want our employees to question the status quo and develop new business approaches. And we’re aware that this is only possible in an open and inclusive climate. That’s why we have created the “We are 1” corporate culture, brought to life by every one of our employees and based on our unique set of values: we are curious, courageous and colorful.

Purpose

Climate change, growing world population, urbanization: these and many other global trends constitute huge challenges for mankind – today and even more tomorrow. Covestro contributes to overcoming them: with a wide range of innovative products and solutions. Because high-quality plastics are a key to an ecological and thus brighter future for the next generation.

Our purpose sets the direction for our actions. We must combine our commitment and responsibility to the preservation of life’s natural foundations with the creation of lasting value.

Vision

Today’s economy often works as a one-way street: Take, make, waste – this decade-long principle has become obsolete. That’s why we at Covestro are fully embracing the Circular Economy and want to contribute to making it a global guiding principle.

Circularity is the key to climate neutrality, resource conservation and the preservation of nature and environment. So we encourage everybody to help close the loop by:

  • Finding new ways of putting resources to good use and reuse
  • Making products that last for as long as possible
  • Avoiding waste
  • Viewing products as a resource for recycling
  • Exploring alternative sources of eco-friendly raw materials (e.g. biomass)

Strategy

To achieve a goal, you need a strategy, and ours is called “Sustainable Future”. It comprises three strategic chapters: transforming the corporation to exploit its full potential, profitably addressing sustainability, and becoming fully circular.

We realize this program with the power of an accelerated digital transformation and the expansion of our “We Are 1” culture. Are you interested in the details? Learn more about our “Sustainability Future” strategy and concrete actions!

Get in touch with us!

Contact form image Zoe

How would you describe yourself?

What type of material are you interested in?

What type of inquiry is this?

How can we contact you?

* Mandatory Fields

Compare

Submit

科思创公司:实现循环性

您知道您的钱包里可能有科思创产品吗?这是因为我们生产了一系列用于身份证的特殊薄膜,我们的产品出现在每个人生活中的更多角落。科思创是高分子材料领域的主要参与者。但我们并未止步于此;我们还通过开发新理念来推动行业的循环转型

在现代生活中,聚合物或塑料已经变得不可或缺,是塑造真正可持续未来的关键因素。正因如此,我们为许多关键行业提供材料,助力其迈向循环和气候中性。为此,我们以创新和可持续性为动力,不断开发新想法。有时,这确实充满挑战,但这正是我们确保进步的方式。

我们天生好奇,如果您也是如此,请立即加入我们,并了解有关我们的更多信息。

2022 年关键数据

180

亿欧元

集团销售额

16

亿欧元

息税折旧摊销前利润 (EBITDA)

1.38

亿欧元

自由运营现金流

470

万吨

温室气体排放*

18,000

员工人数

50

全球生产地点

> 浏览最新年报

*按二氧化碳当量计量(范围 1 和 2

焦点明确的结构

我们为不同市场、需求和行业提供广泛的产品和服务。正是出于这个原因,我们根据业务细节和客户需求对产品组合进行了分组。

具体而言,我们拥有两大细分领域:“高性能材料”和“解决方案与特种材料”。它们总共由七个商业实体组成。每个实体均根据其各自的成功因素进行构建,并整合价值链中的所有关键业务运营。

此外,我们还有一些跨公司的“建设活动”,以确保我们的长期发展。其中包括可持续性、创新、数字化和战略。

原因和方式

“你为什么要做你所做的事”并不是一个容易回答的问题。但在科思创,我们拥有答案,并希望向您展示。因为我们相信,定义企业的不仅是其产品,更是其整体框架。

我们的“可持续未来”战略涉及什么

气候危机正在迫使整个行业做出改变。但在科思创,我们不仅仅想要适应危机;我们更希望推动迈向循环的未来。通过我们的“可持续未来”战略,我们正在为解决当今时代的挑战塑造解决方案——这是我们的责任。详细了解这三个篇章!

成为最好的自己

充分发挥潜力是持续盈利和成功的基础。科思创不断努力成为以客户为中心、高效且具有竞争力的企业。我们于 2021 年引入的清晰组织架构是朝这个方向迈出的重要一步。

推动可持续增长

可持续性和增长并不矛盾,我们公司的目标是将两者结合在一起。这其中最重要的驱动力是我们不断改进的一系列创新,以及环保的产品和解决方案。我们使用产品可持续性评估 (PSA) 来指导我们面向未来的产品组合。它基于世界可持续发展工商理事会 (WBCSD) 制定的方法。

您知道吗?我们公司是全球领先的环保涂料树脂供应商之一——这也要归功于我们从帝斯曼收购了树脂和功能材料 (RFM) 业务。

此外,我们还投资于具有长期吸引力且环保的细分市场。我们将确保所有促进增长的活动(例如,我们的风险投资计划)更加注重可持续性。

到 2025 年,我们 80% 的研发项目支出将有助于实现联合国可持续发展目标 (SDG)。截至 2022 年底,这一比例为 51%。

全面贯彻循环

要推动经济闭环,我们必须从自身做起。科思创将全面贯彻循环,我们的全球“循环经济”计划明确了这一过程中的步骤。其重点是使用替代原材料和可再生能源,以及促进创新的回收和联合解决方案。

从长远来看,我们的目标是 100% 使用替代原材料生产我们的产品,以摆脱原油等化石资源。通过重新调整我们的生产,我们将能够使用来自生物质和回收成分的原材料。

2022 年,科思创购买并整合了超过 55,000 吨可再生原材料。

在循环经济中,气候中性发挥着至关重要的作用。这意味着我们的行为不得对气候产生负面影响;这也适用于公司的制造。我们力争到 2035 年实现气候中性,减少我们自家生产和从供应商处采购能源的温室气体排放。

通过我们的全球气候计划,我们的目标是使用 100% 可再生能源运营所有生产基地。您知道吗,我们安特卫普(比利时)工厂使用的 45% 电力已来自可再生能源?

突破界限需要团队合作。正因如此,我们在全球建立合作伙伴关系和网络

想要了解更多内容?没问题!了解有关科思创与可持续性的更多信息

坚实的基础:数字化与文化

我们的“可持续未来”战略建立在坚实的基础上:“我们是一个团队”文化以及我们在多个层面推动的全面数字化转型。这包括利用人工智能的潜力并拓展我们的数字研发活动,例如与 Google 等国际科技公司合作。我们还通过数据科学提供的宝贵见解,利用算法和机器学习实现盈利。

对于我们的员工,我们希望他们质疑现状并开发新的商业方法。我们深知,这只有在开放和包容的氛围中才可能实现。正因如此,我们营造了“我们是一个团队”的企业文化。它由我们的每一位员工践行,并基于我们独特的价值观:求新若渴、勇往直前、多彩多姿。

宗旨

气候变化、世界人口增长、城市化:如今,所有这些全球趋势都对人类构成了巨大的挑战——而在未来更是如此。科思创致力于提供广泛的创新产品和解决方案,以克服这些挑战。因为高质量塑料是实现生态并为子孙后代构筑更美好未来的关键

我们的宗旨指引着我们的行动。我们必须将维护生命自然基础的承诺和责任与创造持久价值结合起来。

愿景

当今的经济往往是一条单行道:获取、制造、浪费,但这一沿用数十年的原则已经过时。正因如此,科思创将全面贯彻循环经济,并推动其成为全球指导原则。

循环性是实现气候中性、资源节约以及自然和环境保护的关键。因此,我们鼓励每个人通过以下方式帮助闭合循环

  • 寻找充分利用和再利用资源的新方法
  • 制造尽可能耐用的产品
  • 避免浪费
  • 将产品视为可回收资源
  • 探索替代的环保原材料(如生物质)

战略

实现目标需要战略,而我们的战略被称为“可持续未来”。它包括三个战略篇章:企业转型以充分发挥其潜力、以有利可图的方式解决可持续发展问题,以及全面贯彻循环。

通过加速数字化转型和扩大“我们是一个团队”的文化,我们正在实施这一计划。想要了解更多细节?深入探索我们的“可持续未来”战略和具体行动

与我们的专家取得联系!

Contact form image Zoe

我们如何联系您?

您希望了解哪种材料?

您希望进行哪种类型的查询?

如何联系您?

* 必填字段

Compare