Overview

Covestro in China

Covestro Logo street
The colorful logo of Covestro

With 2020 sales of EUR 10.7 billion, Covestro is among the world’s leading polymer companies. Business activities are focused on the manufacture of high-tech polymer materials and the development of innovative, sustainable solutions for products used in many areas of daily life. In doing so, Covestro is fully committed to the circular economy. The main industries served are the automotive and transportation industries, construction, furniture and wood processing, as well as electrical, electronics, and household appliances industries. Other sectors include sports and leisure, cosmetics, health and the chemical industry itself. At the end of 2020, Covestro has 33 production sites worldwide and employs approximately 16,500 people (calculated as full-time equivalents).

Covestro’s sales in China totaled EUR 2.25 billion in 2020, accounting for 21 percent of group sales and making it the company’s single largest market. Covestro’s cumulative investment in China exceeded EUR 3.8 billion as of the end of 2020. Covestro has been in China for a long history, providing high performance materials and innovative solutions to meet customers’ needs with a full range of business activities including R&D, manufacturing and sales. Covestro has 7 production sites, 1 regional innovation hub, 7 offices and more than 3,000 employees in Greater China. Covestro has been awarded Top Employer China 2019, 2020 and 2021 for three consecutive years by the Top Employers Institute for its exceptional employee offerings in the country.

Upgraded Regional Headquarters in Shanghai

Covestro has grown from strength to strength through the years since its regional headquarters was established in Pudong, Shanghai in 2011. This was exemplified in 2020 when Covestro upgraded its Shanghai headquarters to become Covestro (Shanghai) Investment Co., Ltd., which undertakes more functions and business scopes such as management, R&D, operation and investment. To create a multifunctional, integrated headquarters, Covestro has placed the following businesses and functions under the Shanghai entity: the global headquarters of Business Unit Polycarbonates, Asia Pacific headquarters of Business Unit Coatings, Adhesives, Specialties, Asia Pacific Innovation Center, Asia Pacific headquarters of Marketing, Asia Pacific Accounting Shared Service Center, Asia Pacific IT Center, Global Procurement Asia Pacific Center and Asia Pacific HSEQ Center. In 2020, Covestro (Shanghai) Investment Co., Ltd. was recognized by the city authority as the first global business unit headquarters of a multinational company in Shanghai.

State-of-the-art Production

In production, Covestro has since 2001 invested more than EUR 3.5 billion into building the Shanghai integrated site, which is the company’s largest site worldwide. Covestro Integrated Site Shanghai (CISS) is now home to 11 plants with the latest technology, covering all major products that Covestro offers and serving industries including construction, automotive and electronics. CISS was granted the National Green Factory certificate by the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology in 2018 for its continuous efforts in using innovative processes that ensure greater sustainability in manufacturing.

World-class Innovation from China for the World

Covestro embraces a holistic approach towards innovation. Established in 2001, Covestro’s Polymer Research and Development Center (PRDC) in Shanghai has become the regional innovation hub and provides unparalleled support to customers in the APAC region and to the world. The center also explores new business models and digitalization, ventures in e-commerce and fosters incubation of start-ups under the “Open Innovation Hub” concept. Covestro believes in accelerating innovation by opening up and collaborating with industry, academia and partners in the value chains. Propelling collaboration, co-patenting, co-ideation, and co-development spirit in all business segments with customers and ecosystem helps us to push boundaries beyond what is possible today. At Covestro, innovation is everyone and everywhere, and it goes hand in hand with sustainability with a strong emphasis on circular economy.

Industry-Academia Cooperation for Brighter Future

Covestro also established the Covestro-Tongji Innovation Academy with Tongji University, aiming to explore and promote innovative industry-academia cooperation which focuses on industrializing innovation outcomes in the areas of mobility and construction, as well as providing education and talent development programs in related fields. The Academy is expanding its open innovation collaboration by focusing particularly on digitalization, enhancing EV battery performance, and deriving innovative materials to improve car interior air quality as well as exploring the Chinese robotics industry.

Moreover, Covestro has set up an endowed chair in partnership with the UNEP-Tongji Institute of Environment for Sustainable Development for sustainability-related research topics such as circular economy, urbanization and climate change. 

Find more information at www.covestro.com, www.covestro.cn and on WeChat:

QR Code to WeChat

公司概述

科思创在中国

彩色的科思创标志
科思创是全球最大的聚合物生产商之一,2020年销售额达107亿欧元。公司业务范围主要集中在高科技聚合物材料的生产制造,以及用于诸多日常生活领域的创新性及可持续性产品解决方案的研发,从而致力于全面推动循环经济发展。其主要服务领域涵盖汽车与交通、建筑、家具与木材加工以及电子、电气与家电行业,其他领域还包括运动休闲、化妆品、医疗以及化工行业本身。截至2020年底,科思创在全球拥有33个生产基地、约16500位员工(按全职员工计算)。

中国是科思创全球最大单一市场,2020年中国销售额达22.5亿欧元,约占集团销售额的21%。截至2020年底,科思创在中国投资总额已超过38亿欧元。科思创在中国拥有包括研发、制造和销售在内的全方位业务活动,为客户提供高性能材料及创新解决方案。科思创在大中华区共拥有7大生产基地、1个亚太区域创新中心、7个办公点,为3000余名员工创造卓越的工作机会。因致力于为员工创造卓越雇佣条件,科思创中国被杰出雇主调研机构认证为2019、2020和2021年度“中国杰出雇主”。

赋能地区总部

集团于2011年在上海浦东设立了地区总部,并在经营过程中不断赋能,并于2020年进一步提升能级,将该公司更名为科思创(上海)投资有限公司,大幅扩大其地区总部的职能和业务范围 ,全方位覆盖区域管理、创新、经营、投资等各项综合性功能,涵盖聚碳酸酯业务部全球总部、涂料、粘合剂及特殊化学品业务部亚太总部、亚太区创新中心、亚太区市场营销总部、亚太区会计共享服务中心、亚太区IT中心、全球采购亚太中心、亚太区环境健康安全质量中心,旨在全力打造多功能复合型的综合性总部。2020年,科思创(上海)投资有限公司成为第一家经上海市认定的跨国公司事业部全球总部。

先进生产技术

在生产领域,科思创2001年起开始建设上海一体化基地,截至2020年底投资总额已超过35亿欧元。目前,上海一体化基地已成为科思创全球最大的生产基地,拥有11座配备先进生产技术的工厂,覆盖科思创主要产品线,产品广泛应用于建筑、汽车和电子等行业。因坚持在生产制造过程中应用创新工艺,实现可持续发展,科思创上海一体化基地于2018年入选中国工业和信息化部发布的国家级绿色工厂名单。

世界级创新——在中国,为世界

科思创全方位实施创新。2001年科思创聚合物科研开发中心在上海成立,并逐渐发展为亚太区创新中心,向亚太乃至全球客户提供优质服务。该创新中心围绕“开放式创新中心”理念,也专注于探索新商业模式、数字化和电子商务,以及初创企业的孵化。科思创主张开放合作,与产业、学术界及价值链伙伴携手加速创新。通过与各业务领域客户以及创新生态系统各利益相关方推进共同合作、共享专利、共同构想、共同开发,不断跨越极限。在科思创,创新无处不在。同时,我们的创新与可持续发展密不可分,其中特别聚焦循环经济。

产学合作,共创美好未来

此外,科思创与同济大学共建同济-科思创创新研究院,旨在探索、推动产学研开放创新合作,在交通和建筑领域促进创新成果产业化,并在相关领域提供教育和人才培养。双方正通过创新研究院进一步推进开放式创新合作,特别聚焦领域包括数字化、电动汽车电池性能提升以及旨在帮助改善车内空气质量的低挥发性有机化合物(VOC)和气味解决方案的开发,此外也正探索中国机器人行业的发展。

科思创还携手联合国环境署-同济大学环境与可持续发展学院,通过设立教席,开展可持续发展领域的研究,重点关注循环经济、城市化和气候变化等全球环境问题。

 

欲了解更多信息,请访问www.covestro.com www.covestro.cn

科思创官方微信公众号:科思创在中国

QR Code to WeChat